Sunday, January 5, 2020

List of Indian States and Union Territories

The Republic of India is a country that occupies most of the Indian subcontinent in southern Asia and is the second most populous country in the world. It has a long history but today is considered a developing nation as well as the worlds largest democracy. India is a federal republic that consists of 28 states and seven union territories. These Indian states have their own elected governments for local administration. Delhi A city and union territory in northern India, Delhi is one of the countrys most important areas, in part because it is home to New Delhi, Indias capital. All three branches of Indias government, including Parliament and the judiciary, are based here. Delhi has a population of over 16 million people. The main religions are Hinduism, Islam, and Sikhism, and the primary languages are Hindi, Punjabi, and Urdu. Delhis historic temples include the Hindu Swaminarayan Akshardham complex, the Sikh Gurudwara Bangla Sahib, and the Islamic Jama Masjid. The Lotus Temple, a Bahà ¡Ãƒ ­ House of Worship, is perhaps the most impressive building in the city; it is composed of 27 marble petals enclosing a central hall that seats 1,300. The temple is one of the most visited builds in the world. Uttar Pradesh With a population of over 200 million people, Uttar Pradesh is the most populous state in India. The area is so large that it is divided into 75 administrative districts. The official language of the state is Hindi, though a small portion of the population speaks Urdu. The states economy is based on agriculture, with a focus on the production of wheat and sugarcane. Uttar Pradesh is one of the top tourist destinations in India; its most famous sites include the Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. The former was built in the early 1600s as a mausoleum for Mumtaz Mahal, the wife of Mughal emperor Shah Jahan. The latter was a walled city used by the Mughal emperors in the 1500s and early 1600s. Maharashtra Maharashtra is the second most populous state after Uttar Pradesh. It is home to Mumbai, the most populous city in India, which was settled in the early 1500s. The citys architectural wonders include the Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, a railway station built in the Victorian Gothic style in 1888. Maharashtras economy is organized around manufacturing, technology, trade, services, and tourism. The state is also the center of Bollywood film production, which generates billions of dollars each year. Since the 1970s, India has produced more movies per year than even the United States; the films are popular across South Asia and in other parts of the world, including Russia. Bihar Located in northeast India, Bihar was historically a center of power. Out of Magadha, an ancient kingdom in Bihar, arose the religions of Jainism and Buddhism, which are still widely practiced in India today. Bihars economy is primarily service-based, with smaller portions devoted to agriculture and industry. The primary languages are Hindi, Maithili, and Urdu. A unique style of art known as Mithila painting originated in Bihar; works in this style are traditionally painted with simple materials such as fingers and twigs. The artworks feature bright colors and intricate geometric patterns. West Bengal The fourth most populous state in India, West Bengal is home to ethnic Bengalis who make up most of the states population. Bengali culture is known for its rich literary heritage; one Bengali writer, Rabindranath Tagore, was the first Asian to win a Nobel Prize. Notable Bengali art includes the states ancient terra cotta temples and the paintings of Abanindranath Tagore (Rabindranaths nephew). Hinduism is the main religion in West Bengal, and the state is known for its elaborate festivals, including Durga Puja, an annual celebration that lasts five days. Other important celebrations in West Bengal include Pahela Baishakh (the Bengali New Year), Holi (the festival of lights), Ratha Yatra (a Hindu celebration in honor of Jagannath), and Eid al-Fitr (a Muslim celebration that takes place at the end of Ramadan). Vesak, or Buddha Day, is a holiday that marks the birth of Gautama Buddha. Other States Indias other states and union territories include Tamil Nadu, a state known for its historic temples, and Gujarat, the home of the indigenous Gujarati people. State Population Capital Area Andhra Pradesh 76,210,007 Hyderabad 106,195 square miles Tamil Nadu 62,405,679 Chennai 50,216 square miles Madhya Pradesh 60,348,023 Bhopal 119,014 square miles Rajasthan 56,507,188 Jaipur 132,139 square miles Karnataka 52,850,562 Bangalore 74,051 square miles Gujarat 50,671,017 Gandhinagar 75,685 square miles Orissa 36,804,660 Bhubaneswar 60,119 square miles Kerala 31,841,374 Thiruvananthapuram 15,005 square miles Jharkhand 26,945,829 Ranchi 30,778 square miles Assam 26,655,528 Dispur 30,285 square miles Punjab 24,358,999 Chandigarh 19,445 square miles Haryana 21,144,564 Chandigarh 17,070 square miles Chhattisgarh 20,833,803 Raipur 52,197 square miles Jammu and Kashmir 10,143,700 Jammu and Srinagar 85,806 square miles Uttarakhand 8,489,349 Dehradun 20,650 square miles Himachal Pradesh 6,077,900 Shimla 21,495 square miles Tripura 3,199,203 Agartala 4,049 square miles Meghalaya 2,318,822 Shillong 8,660 square miles Manipur 2,166,788 Imphal 8,620 square miles Nagaland 1,990,036 Kohima 6,401 square miles Goa 1,347,668 Panaji 1,430 square miles Arunachal Pradesh 1,097,968 Itanagar 32,333 square miles Mizoram 888,573 Aizawl 8,139 square miles Sikkim 540,851 Gangtok 2,740 square miles

No comments:

Post a Comment